top of page

Meet the Staff


Mel Brito


Hi, my name is Mel Brito and I am currently in my second semester at Norwalk Community College.


I used to study mechanical engineering at the University of Connecticut but dropped out during my sophomore year. I realized I needed a different pace and joined NCC to continue my studies while taking some time for myself.


In my first semester here, I took an English class and realized that I worked better with words and art than with math. I am currently studying for a liberal arts transfer, so I can go back to UConn and major in English.


I love reading and listening to music. I don’t have many hobbies but I love finding new places to visit and trying new foods. I’m a baker and barista at a coffee bar in Stamford.


I am a commuter and most of my college experience happened throughout the pandemic, making it harder for me to connect with the college community.


I also suffer from mental and chronic illnesses. I plan to use my writing to help students readjust to college life and give them support.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To Love Yourself

Essay By Maria F. Torres Are you your worst enemy or are you your number one fan? A lot of people would like to love themselves, but many feel defeated because it seems they are not completely there.

bottom of page