top of page

Chanting Practice, Perseverance Showed Me ‘Nothing Is Impossible’

Updated: Oct 11, 2020

Essay

By Kyle Turner

Thank you for letting me share my story with you all today. Growing up, I lived with my mom and siblings up until high school. I can’t remember exactly why, but after some complications, I moved in with my godmother; I stayed with her for a couple of years. Due to financial struggles, I had to move out of my godmother’s home--I was homeless and stayed wherever I could. Sometimes I stayed with friends, and other times I slept at the train station. It was a very difficult time for me and I didn’t know what to do.

Around this time I reconnected with my friend Bryant, a friend from High School, after seeing him working at Macy’s. I told him about my situation and his family let me stay at their home for a night. This is when I first heard of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. I remember hearing (others) chanting in the morning and was curious about what they were doing. The sound of chanting hit me like a wave. I’m really grateful for Ceci for teaching me about the practice.

I was given the opportunity to attend meetings (with the chanting organization) at my friends, Bill and Carolyn’s home! I am so appreciative of all the support from the members, who would pick me up and reach out to me. I loved how warm and embracing everyone was--and still are to this day! During the upcoming 50,000 Lions of Justice Festival that took place in September 2018 I was very excited and even started inviting my own friends to the District Meetings, like Josh! I still remember all of the great Summer BBQs that year in promotion for the Festival!

The 50,000 Lions of Justice Festival was an event and a golden memory that I will never forget! It felt like I was in a live concert and I especially loved the Taiko Drum performance, alongside many other performances! My favorite part of the festival was the Vow song: “We will never give up. We will never back down. This is our vow!” The festival and all the encouragement I received after learning about the (organization) really helped me to feel inspired to challenge my situation.

Fortunately, my grandmother offered to let me stay at her home for some time, and a little while, and on November 5, 2018, I received my Gohonzon and became an official member of the SGI!

Things were starting to look up and I even started thinking about my future and all the things I wanted to accomplish with my life. I made goals to go back to school, move into my own place, and to find a job so that I could support myself. Bryant even encouraged me to join the first class of the new YMD Academy, a training group for young men, starting in January of 2019. Truthfully, I was a little nervous to join, but I trusted him and decided to challenge myself.

I began doing (chanting shifts) at our old center in Orange and liked wearing the (outfit for chanting)because I felt like part of the “Men in Black”, but also being able to support the members made me feel really happy and grateful to give back. Being part of the YMD Academy made me feel like I was participating in something bigger--and I also felt included. I really love our movement for Kosen-rufu.

Due to a few complications with my grandmother's lease, I could no longer live with her and so I had to find another place to live within a short period of time. I was worried and scared about being homeless again. Fortunately, Bryant and his family decided to let me stay with them while I worked on developing my life to a point where I could support myself fully.

I am very grateful for their support, and now I don’t need to worry so much about my situation as I can focus completely on going to school and looking for a job. Around this time I applied to go to school at Norwalk Community College and applied for financial aid for the Fall 2019 semester. I was chanting to be able to go to school finally and doing my best to challenge myself in the YMD Academy as a cause to break through. Amazingly, I was accepted for the Fall semester and had received my financial aid package which covered all my expenses for school!

This was a great benefit for me and I was very grateful for the opportunity to be able to go to school without the worry of how I was going to pay for it. I felt like this was definitely a result of my practice and perseverance. While at school I was determined to study more than I had in the past and participate more in my classes. I even started regularly going to The Tutoring Center for extra help. As for extracurricular activities, I joined a few clubs such as the school newspaper: The Voice, and the Japanese Club!

Fast-forward to this year, I have been able to finish my first year of college as well as complete my training in the YMD Academy! I‘ve also been learning to budget my finances with a little help from (a friend) and I am currently saving to eventually move into my own apartment! I am so grateful for the benefits I have received from my practice.

I am determined to challenge myself this Fall semester, and win in my Special Olympic speed skating competitions; support my girlfriend, and challenge myself to share this practice with friends. I also want to push myself to keep chanting for happiness and protection.

I’d like to end my experience with a quote from President Ikeda, “With love and patience, nothing is impossible. A person, who no matter how desperate the situation, gives others hope, is a true leader. The determination to win is the better part of winning.”


67 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

To Love Yourself

Essay By Maria F. Torres Are you your worst enemy or are you your number one fan? A lot of people would like to love themselves, but many feel defeated because it seems they are not completely there.

bottom of page