top of page

No Shutdown Nor Quarantine Stops Creative Plans

Updated: Oct 26, 2020


By Carmine Fusaro

It's been less than a month since I've been in quarantine because of COVID-19. But the situation hasn't stopped me from doing chores around the house. There's always stuff to do even in normal times with no coronavirus.


There's the backyard of my parents’ house that needs cleaning. But even in quarantine, I have no time. This is not because there aren't eight days a week. It is because I love being creative. There are choices to make. Some depend on the weather. When it rains, for instance, I put oil on door hinges so they won't squeak or renovate the dining room or look for alternative uses for the bathroom. I love being creative.



My brain won't shut off for any reason. To me, there's new ideas I haven't tried yet. I'd get out my old drawings from two years ago and work on them to refresh my creative motives. Other things I would do is plan new ways to make money, like produce a YouTube channel (though that would take time) or sell books that I don't want. Hopefully I would manage to "survive" during this epidemic with these pursuits.


I remain hopeful for those who are living this travesty and praying for all of us to overcome this virus so we can get back on track. If there’s one thing that this virus has made us aware of is that a humble life with blowing winds has a silent voice from beyond to show us our direction.

NCC student Carmine Fusaro is a reporter and illustrator for The Voice.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To Love Yourself

Essay By Maria F. Torres Are you your worst enemy or are you your number one fan? A lot of people would like to love themselves, but many feel defeated because it seems they are not completely there.

bottom of page